Tips in learning English

March 28, 2009 at 6:23 am | Posted in learning | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

My brother and his wife ever lived in Australia. Not a surprise, they speak English very well.

My sister in law (brother’s wife) gave me several tips in learning English.

Tips #1 : increase vocabulary.
The only way to communicate successfully is speaking with proper vocab and proper pronounciation. So, she suggest me to use dictionary to improve my vocab. Just read dictionary randomly, and then your vocab will be improved.
Tips #2 : read english book loudly. You must hear your voice, your pronounciation. This trick will improve your listening skill. And, of course, makes you more confident.
Tips #3 : writing in English (I think this trick come from my teacher, I’m not sure.) There is a close connection between writing and speaking. Do the one will improve the other.

That’s the tips. Do you have one?

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Watch TV in english, any programs: news, film, even standing comedian show. It will enrich your vocabulary especially with “idioms” not used in everyday plain english.

  2. Thank you very much, Mr. Oemar Bakrie. Your tip is invaluable. My sister said, you will know when your English has good enough if you have a dream in English (you speak english in your dream). šŸ™‚

    I rarely watch TV. But, sometimes I watch film, especially Star Trek series. Still hard for me to follow the conversation, so I turn on the English subtitle. Good enough for learning. šŸ™‚

  3. I totally agree with your sister, because I had experience confirming that hypothesis (?) but it was for french … Therefore my english is still not good enough … hehehe šŸ™‚

  4. 1. don’t be too dizzy with the grammatical manner. focus on the meaning of your sentences. it’s more important to deliver your information, then.

    2. practice your speaking skill everyday, even that you speak by yourself.

    3. mastering all four components in language skills. a young infant learns how to 1. listen 2. speak 3. read 4. write; (these factors go in this order normally). but for old language learners, all factors should go together, hand in hand with one another.
    thus, in short, practice them all in daily application. don’t skip one skill..

    salute,
    nana


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

